Whatever vs. What Ever

The noun “whatever” can mean “no matter what” or “anything” or “everything.”

Examples:
Order whatever you want from the menu; price is no obstacle.
Whatever you do, don’t order the raw oysters; I got sick the last time I had them.

As an adjective, “whatever” means “of any kind.”

Example:
This new submersible pump can be used at whatever temperature may be required.

As an adverb, “whatever” means “in any case.”

Example:
There is no evidence whatever that this well tapped any hydrocarbons.

One of the modern adverbial uses of “whatever” is the one accompanied by your teen rolling his or her eyes when you make a request.

Example:
“I asked you to clean your room, son.”
“Whatever….”

Now, the phrase “what ever” is used to express a question about a period of time.

Example:
What ever became of that old drilling rig Exxon bought for training purposes?

If the sentence still makes sense without the word “ever,” you can usually use the two separate words “what ever.”

7 Responses to “Whatever vs. What Ever”

  1. best social exchange Says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this
    site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  2. darrynphillipyee Says:

    useful stuff. thanks!

  3. Alton Says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • petrocomputing Says:

      Dear Alton:
      The only way to protect your content on your own website from popping up elsewhere without your permission is to copyright it. Start by putting a (c) with your name or business name at the bottom of each web page or post followed by the date. Then whenever you catch somebody stealing your stuff without giving you credit for it (perhaps a link for short excerpts or getting your express written permission for longer chunks of content, then contact them and tell them to either give you due credit or a link, or take the content down. This requires considerable policing on your part. Or, you can just figure that everything on the Web is for public sharing and figure that karma will bring back to you the value that you put out there.
      Love, Jeanne

  4. paczki do Polski Says:

    My brother suggested I may like this website.
    He was once entirely right. This post truly made my day.

    You can not believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this information!
    Thank you!

  5. parkers used car Says:

    Hello! I’ve been following your web site for a
    while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout
    out from Porter Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

  6. Bianca Sloane Says:

    This helped me solve a thorny issue that I couldn’t find an answer to until I stumbled upon this page. THANK YOU!!

Leave a Reply

