National Punctuation Day – Sept. 24, 2011

National Punctuation Day – Sept. 24, 2011

Who knew there was such a thing? Only a true Grammar Geek could appreciate this particular holiday.

There’s a National Grammar Day, too, which I learned about after the fact. That celebration took place Mar. 4, 2011. Get it? March forth! That’s a complete, grammatically correct sentence in the imperative tense. We’ll celebrate that holiday in Tip of the Day Writing Style next Spring.

Meanwhile, let me tell you how I will be celebrating National Punctuation Day. There’s a contest, the Punctuation Paragraph Contest, and there will be 25 winners chosen by “an esteemed panel of judges” to receive “a box of punctuation goodies,” which I sure hope is a box of comma-shaped chocolates, and not some nerdy T-shirt and baseball cap.

The rules for the contest are:
“Write one paragraph, maximum of three sentences, using these 13 punctuation marks:
apostrophe  ‘
brackets  [ ]
colon  :
comma  ,
dash  –
ellipsis  …
exclamation point  !
hyphen  –
parentheses  ( )
period  .
question mark  ?
quotation mark  ”  ”
semicolon  ;
You may use a punctuation mark more than once.”

Good thing, because a few of them come in pairs.

You can still submit an entry to this contest until Sept. 30, 2011, either by emailing <a href="mailto:Jeff@NationalPunctuationDay.comJeff@NationalPunctuationDay.com<mailto:Jeff@NationalPunctuationDay.com>,
or by visiting the website at http://www.nationalpunctuationday.com.
If you go to the website, you can see the winners of last year’s Punctuation Haiku Contest, which are worth reading.

Well, here’s my entry for the contest:

Who would’ve thought that I – a female chemist from upstate New York (LeRoy) – would spend my entire career in the Houston oil industry? Had you suggested it back then, I would have told you this: “I just graduated [from SUNY Albany] and I’m on a mission to cure cancer …; you’re nuts!” Well, my self-assurance vanished when I learned how interesting and high-tech the oil industry really is.

If you decide to enter this contest, please copy me on your email, so I can share it with the rest of the Peanut Gallery. And if you win and I don’t, please share your comma-shaped chocolates with me. And send me a photo of yourself wearing the nerdy T-shirt and cap.

One Response to “National Punctuation Day – Sept. 24, 2011”

  1. Les Soomaroo Says:

    You completed several nice points there. I did a search on the theme and found the majority of persons will have the same opinion with your blog.

Leave a Reply

